At the heart of it.

At the heart of it (I) & (II) are artworks I created in 2011 for the Vancouver Art Centre’s annual Inhouse exhibition.

I reflected upon the sentiments of these works today.

At the heart of it (II)

When the heart is old, we feel heavy in mind, body and spirit. Our dance in life is burdened by the “bad run”. Until we let the energy flow, accept and lighten our minds, regardless our age, our heart is old.

At the heart of it (I)

At the heart of it (I)

When the heart is young, everything in life feels alive and in tune with everything else. Love, happiness, health and good will are the dances of our life and attracted to us. This in turn feeds back to our core and the result is a body and state of grace that is light. Regardless our age our heart is young.

At the heart of it (I) & (II) both sold during the exhibition, but I still like to revisit the photos that I have documenting them.

At the time I created them I was a prolific expressive art journaler and that influence along with my dance background are inherent in the work. It never ceases to amaze me how grounding I find looking back on these works and my art journal in terms of remembering the life lessons I have learned through expressive art.

Leave a Reply

